FACEBOOK CHECKLIST FOR YOUNG PEOPLE

WHAT FRIENDS DO YOU REALLY HAVE?

BE CAREFUL

Use the Privacy Settings in Facebook to improve your privacy, so that you control your profile and what you share with your friends. Use ‘Friends’ Lists (Home > Friends > Create List) to control who can see the content you post on Facebook. Better still, consider carefully what you share with people you don’t know well.

BE WARY

Only accept friend requests from people you know. If you do accept friends you don’t know, bear in mind they might not be who they say they are.

BE CAUTIOUS

If something upsets you on Face book, don’t reply, save the evidence and block the person who is harassing you. You can also report the person by doing the following:

1. Go to the profile (timeline)
2. Click the icon and then select Report

WHO CAN FIND THE CONTENT YOU POST?

What is there about you on the web?
Consider only letting your “Friends” see everything.
Remember though when tagging is involved, you need to be mindful that often ‘friends of friends’ can also see who and what you tag.

1. Click on Home
2. Privacy Settings
3. Control Your Default Privacy
4. Tick Friends button

Ensure you can’t be found in a public (Google) search!
1. Click on Home
2. Privacy Settings
3. Ads, Apps and Websites
4. Public Search, Edit Settings
5. Remove the tick

Control your Applications
1. Click on Home
2. Account Settings
3. Apps
4. Remove apps you don’t need (x)

You can also control what others share about you in the Apps that they use.

KEEP AN EYE ON YOUR TIMELINE

1. Your timeline lists all your activities on Facebook
2. You can edit or delete the activities on your timeline
3. Scroll over timeline activity until Edit or Remove & appears on right hand side of activity and click

DON’T GIVE AWAY TOO MUCH ABOUT YOURSELF!

1. On the web you are not as anonymous as you think.
2. Think before you upload an image, who are you sharing it with? Are you happy for them to see it?
3. If you are accessing Facebook via a smart phone, you might be disclosing your location without realising it.
4. The content you post online can be copied, saved and manipulated, even though you may have previously deleted it. You lose control over content once posted.
5. The internet never forgets. Content that you have deleted may remain online if others have saved or used it. What first impression does your profile give? Would you be happy for your future college, university or employer to see your embarrassing photos?

TAKE NOTICE OF HOW YOUR IMAGES ARE USED

1. The sharing of images and videos which may hurt or harm another person is not allowed. When posting or sharing any image, ensure that you ask the person if they agree to their image being made public.
2. If you don’t want your image to be made public, ask the person to delete it.
3. If you feel that you are being bullied on Facebook, you can report it directly to Facebook using the Report button.
4. Various organisations can help with bullying such as Childline & BeatBullying.

HOW DO YOU USE YOUR FRIENDS LISTS?

How does your profile appear?

You can see exactly what your profile looks like to other people by using the ‘View As…’ tool. Go to your profile and click the Edit Profile button at the top.
You can see exactly what your profile looks like to other people by using the ‘View As…’ tool. Go to your profile and click the drop down next to the ‘Activity Log’ button. You can see exactly what your profile looks like to other people by using the ‘View As…’ tool.

1. Go to your profile and click on the drop down on the right.
2. Click the ‘View As…’ button
3. You’ll see what your profile looks to the public. To preview how your profile appears to a specific person, such as a friend, type their name into the open field and press enter.

Note: The ‘View As…’ tool doesn’t show whether people can interact on your Wall through posts, likes or comments. Your Wall privacy settings will always apply, and anyone who can see a post can like or comment on it.

Consider the level of information that you want to share with people. For example would you want to share the same information with your best friend and your parents?

Think about creating different ‘friends lists’ in order to share different information with your different audiences.

You can set who can see your status updates and photos. In Privacy Settings go to Control Your Default Privacy and click on @ Custom. You can now customise the privacy to individuals or lists.

HOW TO CREATE A FRIENDS LIST

1. Click on Home
2. Click Friends title on the left hand side
3. Click + Create Lists
4. Enter a name for your list
5. Create
6. Add Friends and click on the friends you want to add to the list

ORGANISE FRIENDS LISTS

1. Choose a Friends List
2. Click Manage List button (Top right, under Home button)
3. Edit List allows you to remove or add friends to the list
4. Click on a friend to remove
5. Click on top left drop down and select Friends. Click on who to add to the list
6. Click Finish to add them

HOW DO I DEACTIVIATE MY FACEBOOK PROFILE?

If you deactivate your Facebook account, your profile will not be erased, but temporarily suspended. No one will be able to find your account and it will no longer appear in Friends lists.
1. Click on Home
2. Account Settings
3. Security (left hand side of page)
4. Deactivate your account

All data and information in the account will be kept
and can be reactivated at any time.

HOW DO I PERMANENTLY DELETE MY FACEBOOK ACCOUNT?

1. Click on Home
2. Help
3. Type “How do I permanently delete my account?” and follow the link to “Submit your request here”
Warning! Your Facebook account will remain active for 14 days and will only be deleted if you do not use it in that time.

Facebook Safety Centre – www.facebook.com/safety
UK Safer Internet Centre:
Web – www.saferinternet.org.uk
Email – enquiries@saferinternet.org.uk
Online Reputation – www.saferinternet.org.uk/online-reputation
Childnet – www.childnet.com
Kidsmart – www.kidsmart.org.uk
Childline – 0800 1111 www.childline.org.uk